• Memorial to the Victims of National Socialist Tyranny on Morzinplatz
Since 1951, a memorial stone on the site of the former Gestapo headquarters commemorates those who were imprisoned here. In 1985, the City of Vienna set up an official monument here, this time dedicated to all victims of National Socialist tyranny.
Image: Vienna, around 1870, The Hotel Métropole, later the headquarters of the Gestapo in Vienna, public domain
Vienna, around 1870, The Hotel Métropole, later the headquarters of the Gestapo in Vienna, public domain

Image: Vienna, 2006, View of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
Vienna, 2006, View of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
Following Austria's »Anschluss« (»annexation«) to the German Reich, the Gestapo set up headquarters in Vienna and branch offices in Innsbruck, Salzburg, Klagenfurt, Linz, Eisenstadt and Graz. These offices persecuted political opponents in Austria and implemented the anti-Jewish laws of the National Socialist state.
The Vienna headquarters were established on Morzinplatz in the former »Hotel Metropol« and were headed by Franz Josef Huber. In 1939, the Vienna headquarters had over 840 staff members, making it larger than the Berlin Gestapo office. Between 1938 and 1945, Viennese personnel took about 50,000 people into »protective custody«. The inmates were abused and tortured in the basement of the building, which served as a prison. Many of the prisoners were then deported to concentration camps. The Vienna headquarters also participated in the deportation of about 45,000 Viennese Jews to extermination camps in occupied Poland.
In 1945, bomb impacts destroyed the Gestapo building on Morzinplatz.
Image: Vienna, around 1870, The Hotel Métropole, later the headquarters of the Gestapo in Vienna, public domain
Vienna, around 1870, The Hotel Métropole, later the headquarters of the Gestapo in Vienna, public domain

Image: Vienna, 2006, View of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
Vienna, 2006, View of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
According to its inscription the memorial is dedicated to »the victims of fascism«. An inscription on the monument refers to the victims of the Vienna Gestapo, which had its headquarters in direct vicinity of the monument on Morzinplatz. About 50,000 people were temporarily in »protective custody«: communists, social democrats, Jews, monarchists, members of various religious groups, »asocials«, criminalised people and homosexuals.
Image: Vienna, 2010, The memorial and its surroundings on Morzinplatz, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Vienna, 2010, The memorial and its surroundings on Morzinplatz, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
On April 11, 1951, the Concentration Camp Society In Memory of Victims of the Gestapo set up a memorial with the following inscription: »Never forget – Here stood the house of the Gestapo. To Austria's faithful it was hell. For many of them it was the forecourt of death. It sank into ruins like the Thousand Year Reich. Yet Austria rose up again and with her our dead, the immortal martyrs«.
In the 1980s, the City of Vienna funded an official monument which replaced the memorial stone. It presents a bronze figure, which is surrounded by granite stones from the former concentration camp Mauthausen. The inscription from the previous memorial was preserved. The monument was inaugurated on November 1, 1985, by Viennese mayor Helmut Zilk and the working group of Concentration Camp Societies and Austrian Resistance Fighters.
In 1968, the »Leopold Figl-Hof« was built on the premises of the former Gestapo headquarters. Today, located in the basement of the building is a commemorative site dedicated to the victims and the history of the site between 1938 and 1945.
The monument on Morzinplatz specifically points to two victim groups under National Socialism: On the upper stone slab a red triangle, which concentration camp inmates were marked with, commemorates political prisoners, while a yellow star symbolises the Jewish victims. Since the end of the 1990s, several initiatives have lobbied for the mention of other victims groups on the monument.
In 2005, the City of Vienna decided to construct a »Monument to the Homosexual and Transgender Victims of National Socialism in Vienna« on Morzinplatz, thus creating the first public memorial for this victim group in Vienna. The winner of the competition in 2006 was the »The Pink Square« concept by artist Hans Kupelweiser. However, the plans have not been realised.
Image: Vienna, 2010, Detialed view of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Vienna, 2010, Detialed view of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster

Image: Vienna, 2010, Detialed view of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Vienna, 2010, Detialed view of the memorial, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Name
Mahnmal für die Opfer der NS-Gewaltherrschaft am Morzinplatz
Address
Morzinplatz
1010 Wien
Phone
+43 (0)1 534 369 031 5
Fax
+43 (0)1 534 369 990 319
Web
http://www.nachkriegsjustiz.at
E-Mail
gewaltverbrechen@nachkriegsjustiz.at
Open
The memorial is accessible at all times.

• Mahnmal für die Opfer der NS-Gewaltherrschaft am Morzinplatz
Am ehemaligen Sitz der Wiener Leitstelle der Gestapo erinnerte seit 1951 ein Gedenkstein an die hier inhaftierten Menschen. 1985 ließ die Stadt Wien ein offizielles Mahnmal an der gleichen Stelle errichten, diesmal jedoch allen Opfern der nationalsozialistischen Gewaltherrschaft gewidmet.
Bild:Wien, um 1870, Das Hotel Métropole, späterer Sitz der Wiener Gestapo, gemeinfrei
Wien, um 1870, Das Hotel Métropole, späterer Sitz der Wiener Gestapo, gemeinfrei

Bild:Wien, 2006, Gesamtansicht des Denkmals, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
Wien, 2006, Gesamtansicht des Denkmals, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
Unmittelbar nach dem »Anschluss« Österreichs an das Deutsche Reich richtete die Geheime Staatspolizei (Gestapo) eine Leitstelle in Wien ein, Zweigstellen entstanden in Innsbruck, Salzburg, Klagenfurt, Linz, Eisenstadt und Graz. Diese Stellen betrieben die Verfolgung politischer Gegner in Österreich und dienten der Durchsetzung der antijüdischen Politik des nationalsozialistischen Staates.
Die Wiener Leitstelle der Gestapo entstand am Morzinplatz im ehemaligen »Hotel Métropole«, ihr Leiter war Franz Josef Huber. 1939 verfügte sie über 840 Mitarbeiter und besaß damit mehr Personal als die Berliner Gestapo. Mitarbeiter der Leitstelle nahmen zwischen 1938 und 1945 insgesamt etwa 50.000 Menschen zeitweise in »Schutzhaft«. Im Keller des Gebäudes, der als Gefängnis diente, waren die Häftlinge Misshandlungen und Folter ausgesetzt. Viele Schutzhäftlinge wurden anschließend in Konzentrationslager verschleppt. Die Wiener Gestapoleitstelle wirkte außerdem an den Deportationen von etwa 45.000 Wiener Juden in die Vernichtungslager im besetzten Polen mit.
1945 zerstörten Bombeneinschläge das Gebäude der Gestapo am Morzinplatz.
Bild:Wien, um 1870, Das Hotel Métropole, späterer Sitz der Wiener Gestapo, gemeinfrei
Wien, um 1870, Das Hotel Métropole, späterer Sitz der Wiener Gestapo, gemeinfrei

Bild:Wien, 2006, Gesamtansicht des Denkmals, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
Wien, 2006, Gesamtansicht des Denkmals, wikipedia commons, Gryffindor
Das Mahnmal ist laut Inschrift »den Opfern des Faschismus« gewidmet. Eine Inschrift am Mahnmal bezieht sich auf die Opfer der Wiener Gestapo, deren Hauptsitz sich in unmittelbarer Nähe zum heutigen Mahnmal am Morzinplatz befand. Etwa 50.000 Menschen waren hier zeitweise in »Schutzhaft«: Kommunisten, Sozialdemokraten, Juden, Monarchisten und Mitglieder verschiedener religiösen Gruppen. Betroffen waren zudem so genannte »Asoziale«, Kriminalisierte und Homosexuelle.
Bild:Wien, 2010, Das Mahnmal und seine Umgebung am Morzinplatz, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Wien, 2010, Das Mahnmal und seine Umgebung am Morzinplatz, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Am 11. April 1951 stellte der KZ-Verband in Erinnerung an die Opfer der Gestapo einen Gedenkstein auf. Er trug die Inschrift: »Niemals vergessen – Hier stand das Haus der Gestapo. Es war für die Bekenner Österreichs die Hölle. Es war für viele von ihnen der Vorhof des Todes. Es ist in Trümmer gesunken wie das Tausendjährige Reich. Österreich aber ist wiederauferstanden und mit ihm unsere Toten, die unsterblichen Opfer«.
In den 1980er Jahren stiftete die Stadt Wien ein offizielles Mahnmal, das den Gedenkstein ersetzte. Es stellt eine Bronzefigur dar, die von Granitsteinblöcken aus dem ehemaligen Konzentrationslager Mauthausen umgeben ist. Die Inschrift des früheren Gedenksteins wurde beibehalten. Der damalige Wiener Bürgermeister Helmut Zilk und die Arbeitsgemeinschaft der KZ-Verbände und Widerstandskämpfer Österreichs enthüllten das Mahnmal am 1. November 1985.
Direkt auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Gestapoleitstelle wurde 1968 ein Neubau, der »Leopold Figl-Hof« errichtet. Heute befindet sich im Erdgeschoss des Gebäudes eine Gedenkstätte, die an die Geschichte des Ortes zwischen 1938 und 1945 und an die Opfer erinnert.
Das Mahnmal am Morzinplatz verweist auf zwei Opfergruppen des Nationalsozialismus im Besonderen: An der oberen Steinplatte erinnert ein roter Winkel - einst das Kennzeichen, das Häftlinge in den Konzentrationslagern tragen mussten – an die politischen Häftlinge. Ein gelber Stern steht für die jüdischen Opfer. Seit Ende der 1990er Jahre setzten sich mehrere Initiativen dafür ein, dass auch andere Opfergruppen am Mahnmal symbolisch dargestellt werden.
2005 beschloss der Wiener Stadtrat den Bau eines »Mahnmals für die homosexuellen und transgender Opfer des Nationalsozialismus in Wien« auf dem Morzinplatz, um erstmals ein öffentliches Denkmal für diese Opfergruppe in Wien zu schaffen. Die Ausschreibung gewann 2006 das Projekt »Der Rosa Platz« des österreichischen Künstlers Hans Kupelwieser. Das Projekt wurde jedoch nicht umgesetzt.
Bild:Wien, 2010, Detailansicht des Mahnmals, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Wien, 2010, Detailansicht des Mahnmals, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster

Bild:Wien, 2010, Detailansicht des Mahnmals, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Wien, 2010, Detailansicht des Mahnmals, wikipedia commons, Filmbuster
Name
Mahnmal für die Opfer der NS-Gewaltherrschaft am Morzinplatz
Adresse
Morzinplatz
1010 Wien
Telefon
+43 (0)1 534 369 031 5
Fax
+43 (0)1 534 369 990 319
Web
http://www.nachkriegsjustiz.at
E-Mail
gewaltverbrechen@nachkriegsjustiz.at
Öffnungszeiten
Das Mahnmal ist jederzeit zugänglich.