• Memorial to the Victims of the Chişinău Ghetto
A memorial in Chişinău (Russian name used before 1991: Kishinev) close to the former ghetto honours the Jews who were held there in 1941.
Image: Chișinău, October 1941, Romanian soldiers during the »resettlement« of Jews, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv
Chișinău, October 1941, Romanian soldiers during the »resettlement« of Jews, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv

Image: Chișinău, 2012, Ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Chișinău, 2012, Ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Chișinău lies in the historical region of Bessarabia; today, it is the capital of the Republic of Moldova. Jews settled in Chișinău in the 18th century, and the city became a centre of Jewish life in south-eastern Europe. The Jewish population reached close to 50,000 at the end of the 19th century, representing almost half of the total population. Time and again, however, anti-Jewish violence erupted in Chișinău, such as during the devastating pogrom of 1903.
In June 1940, Soviet troops occupied Bessarabia - which had been part of Romania since 1918 - in accordance with the Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact, including Chișinău. When the German and Romanian armies attacked the Soviet Union and advanced towards Chișinău in June 1941, only few of the 50,000 Jews managed to escape inland to the Soviet Union. It is assumed that shortly after the city's occupation, up to 10,000 Jews were killed by locals and soldiers of the occupying forces. The army units were followed by SS Sonderkommando 11a under the command of Paul Zapp. At the end of July 1941, Zapp prompted the Romanian authorities to undertake systematic measures against the Jews. As a result, the district prefect established a ghetto and a concentration camp for the Jews. Up to 11,000 Jews from Chișinău had to move into the ghetto, about 1,000 were held hostage in the camp. On August 1, 1941, members of Sonderkommando 11a forcibly gathered 550 Jewish men and women from the ghetto and from the camp under the pretence of »retribution« for an arson attack in the city. The men and women were separated, registered and shot on the outskirts of the city. Shortly afterwards, the Sonderkommando left Chișinău, advancing towards the front. The ghetto remained under Romanian administration. At the beginning of October 1941, the Romanian authorities began deporting the Jews from the ghetto across the river Dniester to the Romanian-occupied region of Transnistria. In 1942, there were no Jews left in Chișinău.
Image: Chișinău, October 1941, Romanian soldiers during the »resettlement« of Jews, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv
Chișinău, October 1941, Romanian soldiers during the »resettlement« of Jews, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv

Image: Chișinău, 2012, Ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Chișinău, 2012, Ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
In July 1941, presumably 10,000 Jews from Chișinău perished at the hands of the advancing Romanian army and the Wehrmacht. Up to 11,000 Chișinău Jews had to move into a ghetto, including 2,300 children. Approximately 1,000 Jews were held in a concentration camp. SS Sonderkommando 11a shot about 550 Jewish men and women on August 1, 1941. The remaining Jews from the Ghetto were deported by Romanian authorities to Transnistria in October 1941; many died on the way. The Jews had to live in ghettos in Transnistria and were deployed in forced labour; many died of hunger, illnesses and of the effects of the backbreaking labour.
Image: Chișinău, October 1941, Romanian soldiers during the »resettlement« of Jews, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv
Chișinău, October 1941, Romanian soldiers during the »resettlement« of Jews, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv

Image: Chișinău, 2012, Rear view of the ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Chișinău, 2012, Rear view of the ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
After the war, Chișinău was home to about 5,500 Jews, almost all of them refugees who had lived elsewhere before the war. The community grew rapidly: in 1959, there were over 42,000 Jews in the city. Over two thirds of them emigrated in the 1970s and the following decades, mostly to Israel.
The memorial to the victims of the Chișinău ghetto was erected in 1993. It was designed by sculptor Haum Epelbaum and architect Şoihet Simeon. The memorial is situated on the corner of Grigore Vieru boulevard and Ierusalim street, close to where the entrance to the ghetto once was. It consists of two red granite slabs, notches at the sides form a Star of David. In front of the granite elements is a bronze sculpture. A Hebrew, Romanian and Russian inscription on the granite slabs reads: »Martyrs and victims of the Chișinău ghetto! We, those who are alive, shall remember you!«
A further memorial is located on the northern outskirts of Chișinău, on the supposed site of the August 1941 shooting. The »Monument to the Victims of Fascism« (Romanian: Monumentul Victimelor Fascismului) was designed by artist David Aurel and dedicated in 1991. Today, this is an industrial area, and the monument is close to a car dealer in Calea Orheiului Street. In 2010, the Moldovan Ministry for Culture and the Jewish communities of Moldova jointly set up a donation account for the run-down memorial, which is in desperate need of renovation.
Image: Chișinău, 2012, Detailed view of the ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal
Chișinău, 2012, Detailed view of the ghetto memorial, Stiftung Denkmal

Image: Chișinău, 2005, »Monument to the Victims of Fascism« on the site of the mass shootings, Stiftung Denkmal
Chișinău, 2005, »Monument to the Victims of Fascism« on the site of the mass shootings, Stiftung Denkmal
Name
Monumentul victimilor din ghetoul Chişinău
Address
Str. Ierusalim
Chişinău
Open
The memorial is accessible at all times.

• Denkmal für die Opfer des Ghettos Kischinau
In Kischinau (rumänisch/moldauisch: Chișinău, russisch: Kischinjow) erinnert ein Denkmal in der Nähe des ehemaligen Ghettos an die Juden, die 1941 dort leben mussten.
Bild:Kischinau, Oktober 1941, Rumänische Soldaten bei der »Übersiedlung« von Juden, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv
Kischinau, Oktober 1941, Rumänische Soldaten bei der »Übersiedlung« von Juden, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv

Bild:Kischinau, 2012, Ghettodenkmal, Stiftung Denkmal
Kischinau, 2012, Ghettodenkmal, Stiftung Denkmal
Kischinau liegt in der historischen Region Bessarabien und ist die Hauptstadt der heutigen Republik Moldau. Im 18. Jahrhundert siedelten sich Juden in Kischinau an, die Stadt wurde ein Zentrum jüdischen Lebens in Südosteuropa. Bereits Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts lebten hier bis zu 50.000 Juden, fast die Hälfte aller Einwohner der Stadt. Immer wieder gab es jedoch antijüdische Übergriffe in Kischinau, so auch bei dem schweren Pogrom von 1903.
Infolge des Hitler-Stalin-Paktes besetzten im Juni 1940 sowjetische Truppen das seit 1918 zu Rumänien gehörende Bessarabien und Kischinau. Als die deutschen und rumänischen Armeen im Juni 1941 die Sowjetunion angriffen und auf Kischinau vorrückten, konnten nur wenige der über 50.000 Juden in die Sowjetunion fliehen. Schon kurz nach der Eroberung kamen vermutlich bis zu 10.000 Juden bei Gewaltakten durch die einheimische Bevölkerung und Soldaten der Besatzungsarmeen ums Leben. Im Gefolge der Armeen rückte das SS-Sonderkommando (SK) 11a unter dem Kommando von Paul Zapp in Kischinau ein. Ende Juli 1941 regte Zapp bei den rumänischen Behörden ein systematisches Vorgehen gegen Juden an, der Bezirkspräfekt befahl darauf die Errichtung eines Ghettos und eines Konzentrationslagers für Juden. Bis zu 11.000 Juden aus Kischinau mussten in das Ghetto umziehen, etwa 1.000 Juden wurden in dem Lager als Geiseln festgehalten. Unter dem Vorwand der Vergeltung für einen Brand in der Stadt holten Angehörige des SK 11a am 1. August 1941 etwa 550 jüdische Männer und Frauen aus dem Ghetto und aus dem Lager; sie wurden nach Geschlechtern getrennt, registriert und in der Nähe der Stadt erschossen. Wenig später zog das Sonderkommando weiter. Das Ghetto blieb zunächst unter rumänischer Verwaltung bestehen. Anfang Oktober 1941 begannen rumänische Behörden, die Juden aus dem Ghetto über den Fluss Dnister in das rumänisch besetzte Gebiet Transnistrien zu deportieren. Ab 1942 lebten keine Juden mehr in Kischinau.
Bild:Kischinau, Oktober 1941, Rumänische Soldaten bei der »Übersiedlung« von Juden, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv
Kischinau, Oktober 1941, Rumänische Soldaten bei der »Übersiedlung« von Juden, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv

Bild:Kischinau, 2012, Ghettodenkmal, Stiftung Denkmal
Kischinau, 2012, Ghettodenkmal, Stiftung Denkmal
Im Juli 1941 starben vermutlich bis zu 10.000 Juden aus Kischinau bei Gewalttaten der einrückenden rumänischen Armee und der Wehrmacht. Bis zu 11.000 Kischinauer Juden mussten in ein Ghetto ziehen, darunter auch etwa 2.300 Kinder. Etwa 1.000 Juden wurden in einem Konzentrationslager festgehalten. Das SS-Sonderkommando 11a erschoss etwa 550 jüdische Männer und Frauen am 1. August 1941. Die übrigen Juden aus dem Ghetto wurden ab Oktober 1941 von rumänischen Behörden in das Gebiet Transnistrien deportiert, viele starben bereits auf dem Weg dorthin. In Transnistrien mussten die Juden in Ghettos leben und Zwangsarbeit leisten, sehr viele starben an den Folgen von Hunger, Krankheit und Zwangsarbeit.
Bild:Kischinau, Oktober 1941, Rumänische Soldaten bei der »Übersiedlung« von Juden, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv
Kischinau, Oktober 1941, Rumänische Soldaten bei der »Übersiedlung« von Juden, Westermann Unternehmensarchiv

Bild:Kischinau, 2012, Rückansicht des Ghettodenkmals, Stiftung Denkmal
Kischinau, 2012, Rückansicht des Ghettodenkmals, Stiftung Denkmal
Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg lebten in Kischinau etwa 5.500 Juden, fast alle von ihnen Flüchtlinge, die vor dem Krieg an anderen Orten gelebt hatten. Die Gemeinde wuchs schnell: 1959 lebten wieder über 42.000 Juden in der Stadt. Von ihnen wanderten über zwei Drittel in den 1970er Jahren und den folgenden Jahrzehnten aus, vor allem nach Israel.
Das Denkmal für die Opfer des Kischinauer Ghettos wurde 1993 errichtet. Es wurde vom Bildhauer Haum Epelbaum und dem Architekten Şoihet Simeon gestaltet. Das Denkmal steht auf dem heutigen Boulevard Grigore Vieru an der Ecke Ierusalimstraße in der Nähe des ehemaligen Ghettoeingangs. Das Denkmal besteht aus zwei roten Granitblöcken, Aussparungen an den Steinen bilden einen Davidstern. Vor den Steinelementen steht eine Bronzefigur. Auf den Granitblöcken steht auf Hebräisch, Rumänisch und Russisch: »Märtyrer und Opfer des Ghettos Kischinau! Wir, Lebenden, erinnern uns an Euch!«
Ein weiteres Denkmal befindet sich am nördlichen Stadtrand von Kischinau an der vermuteten Erschießungsstelle vom August 1941. Das »Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus« (rumänisch: Monumentul Victimelor Fascismului) wurde vom Künstler David Aurel geschaffen und 1991 aufgestellt. Das Denkmal liegt heute in einem Gewerbegebiet in der Nähe eines Autohändlers an der Strada Calea Orheiului. Im Jahr 2010 richtete das moldauische Ministerium für Kultur in Zusammenarbeit mit den jüdischen Gemeinden der Republik Moldau und anderen Einrichtungen ein Spendenkonto für die Reparatur des stark sanierungsbedürftigen Denkmals ein.
Bild:Kischinau, 2012, Detailaufnahme vom Ghettodenkmal, Stiftung Denkmal
Kischinau, 2012, Detailaufnahme vom Ghettodenkmal, Stiftung Denkmal

Bild:Kischinau, 2005, »Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus« an der Stelle der Massenerschießungen, Stiftung Denkmal
Kischinau, 2005, »Denkmal für die Opfer des Faschismus« an der Stelle der Massenerschießungen, Stiftung Denkmal
Name
Monumentul victimilor din ghetoul Chişinău
Adresse
Str. Ierusalim
Chişinău
Öffnungszeiten
Das Denkmal ist jederzeit zugänglich.