• Salaspils Memorial
Salaspils is situated around twenty kilometres from the Latvian capital Riga. The so-called »work education camp« and the »extended police prison« Salaspils were constructed in the winter of 1941/1942 under inhumane working conditions by Jewish men who had been deported from the German Reich. Salaspils was the largest camp in the Baltic region not only for civilian prisoners from Latvia, but also political prisoners of different nationalities.
Image: Salaspils, after 1944, Camp grounds with watchtower, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg
Salaspils, after 1944, Camp grounds with watchtower, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg

Image: Salaspils, 2009, Sculpture at the site of the memorial, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Sculpture at the site of the memorial, Ronnie Golz
In the winter of 1941/1942, the SS deployed around 1,000 Jewish men from the Jungfernhof concentration camp and from the Riga ghetto for the construction of the police prison camp Salaspils. The men were Jews who had been deported from the German Reich. They had the task of constructing barracks and watchtowers in Salaspils, as well as completing the camp's fencing. Many of the Jewish forced labourers died of the effects of the harsh working and living conditions. They had to complete strenuous tasks in the freezing cold. They were initially not provided with accommodation and hardly received any food. The SS guards were extremely brutal, punishing the Jewish forced labourers for even the smallest »offence«. Due to the high death rate among the prisoners, the SS recruited a further 500 to 800 Jews from the Riga ghetto for work until the camp's completion.
The emerging camp was under the command of the chief of the security police. From the summer of 1942, it served as a police prison camp and a work education camp for about one year for Latvians, Russians, Roma and others who were waiting for their sentence in Riga. Moreover, Salaspils served from 1943 on as a transit camp for forced labourers and around 2,300 arrested people »suspect of being partisans«, including many women and children, mostly from the region of Latgalia and from Belarus. The SS deployed many of the prisoners in forced labour in Salaspils and vicinity, amongst others in a stone quarry and a cement factory. Salaspils existed until the summer of 1944, at which point the remaining prisoners were relocated to the Stutthof concentration camp by the SS.
Image: Salaspils, after 1944, Camp grounds with watchtower, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg
Salaspils, after 1944, Camp grounds with watchtower, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg

Image: Salaspils, 2009, Sculpture at the site of the memorial, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Sculpture at the site of the memorial, Ronnie Golz
According to estimates, around 1,000 Jews from Germany perished during the construction of the Salaspils camp.
The exact number of those murdered beginning the summer of 1942 in the police prison camp is not known, estimates speak of between 2,000 and 3,000 victims.
The number of people to pass through the Salaspils camp is also not known. Newest sources state it may have been up to 12,000 prisoners.
Image: Salaspils, 1941/42, Prisoners being forced to beat a fellow prisoner, Bundesarchiv Koblenz
Salaspils, 1941/42, Prisoners being forced to beat a fellow prisoner, Bundesarchiv Koblenz

Image: Salaspils, 2009, Memorial wall at the site, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Memorial wall at the site, Ronnie Golz
The memorial was erected in 1967, at a time when Latvia was part of the Soviet Union. Seven larger than life-sized sculptures stand on the former roll-call grounds of the camp, symbolising the suffering, the tenacity and success of antifascism in the fight against the National Socialist regime.
Image: Salaspils, 2009, Sculptures on the memorial grounds, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Sculptures on the memorial grounds, Ronnie Golz

Image: Salaspils, 2009, Sculptures on the memorial grounds, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Sculptures on the memorial grounds, Ronnie Golz
Name
Salaspils memoriāls
Address
Rigas raj.
2121 Salaspils
Phone
+371 (0)7 949 440
Open
The memorial is accessible at all times.

• Gedenkstätte Salaspils
Salaspils (deutsch auch: Kirchholm) befindet sich knapp zwanzig Kilometer von der lettischen Hauptstadt Riga entfernt. Das sogenannte »Arbeitserziehungslager« und »erweiterte Polizeigefängnis« Salaspils errichteten aus dem Deutschen Reich deportierte jüdische Männer im Winter 1941/42 unter unmenschlichen Arbeitsbedingungen. Im baltischen Raum galt Salaspils von 1942 bis 1944 als das größte Lager für lettische Zivilgefangene, aber auch für politische Gefangene aus mehreren Ländern.
Bild:Salaspils, nach 1944, Lagergelände mit Wachturm, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg
Salaspils, nach 1944, Lagergelände mit Wachturm, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg

Bild:Salaspils, 2009, Skulptur auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Skulptur auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Die SS setzte im Winter 1941/42 ungefähr 1.000 jüdische Männer aus dem Konzentrationslager Jungfernhof und dem Ghetto Riga zum Aufbau des Polizeihaftlagers Salaspils ein. Bei den Männern handelte es sich um deportierte Juden aus dem Deutschen Reich. Sie hatten die Aufgabe, in Salaspils Baracken und Wachtürme zu errichten sowie die Umzäunung des Lagers fertig zu stellen. Eine große Anzahl der jüdischen Zwangsarbeiter starb aufgrund der extremen Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen. Bei eisigen Temperaturen mussten die Gefangenen schwerste Arbeiten verrichten. Für sie gab es anfangs keine Unterkünfte und kaum Essensvorräte. Die SS-Bewacher gingen äußerst brutal vor und bestraften die jüdischen Zwangsarbeiter bei kleinsten »Vergehen«. Aufgrund der hohen Todesrate unter den Gefangenen rekrutierte die SS bis zur Fertigstellung des Lagers weitere 500 bis 800 Juden aus dem Rigaer Ghetto zum Arbeitseinsatz.
Das entstehende Lager unterstand dem Kommandeur der Sicherheitspolizei. Ab Sommer 1942 diente es ungefähr ein Jahr lang als Polizeihaftlager und Arbeitserziehungslager für Letten, Russen, Roma und andere Personen, die auf ihre Verurteilung in Riga warteten. Darüber hinaus diente Salaspils ab 1943 als Durchgangslager für Zwangsarbeiter, aber auch für etwa 2.300 verhaftete »partisanenverdächtige« Personen, darunter viele Frauen und Kinder. Sie stammten vor allem aus dem Gebiet Lettgallen und aus Weißrussland. Viele der Lagerinsassen setzte die SS in Salaspils und Umgebung zur Zwangsarbeit ein, unter anderem in einem Steinbruch und in einer Zementfabrik. Bis Sommer 1944 bestand Salaspils. Die zu diesem Zeitpunkt im Lager befindlichen Häftlinge verbrachte die SS in das Konzentrationslager Stutthof.
Bild:Salaspils, nach 1944, Lagergelände mit Wachturm, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg
Salaspils, nach 1944, Lagergelände mit Wachturm, Bundesarchiv Ludwigsburg

Bild:Salaspils, 2009, Skulptur auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Skulptur auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
In Salaspils kamen schätzungsweise 1.000 Juden aus dem Deutschen Reich beim Bau des Lagers ums Leben.
Die genaue Zahl der ab Sommer 1942 im sogenannten Polizeihaftlager Ermordeten ist nicht genau bekannt. Es wird von 2.000 bis 3.000 weiteren Opfern ausgegangen.
Unklar ist auch die tatsächliche Anzahl der Personen, die das Lager Salaspils durchliefen. Neueste Quellen gehen von bis zu 12.000 Gefangenen aus.
Bild:Salaspils, 1941/42, Häftlinge müssen einen Mithäftling schlagen, Bundesarchiv Koblenz
Salaspils, 1941/42, Häftlinge müssen einen Mithäftling schlagen, Bundesarchiv Koblenz

Bild:Salaspils, 2009, Gedenkwand auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Gedenkwand auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Das Denkmal stammt aus der sowjetischen Zeit Lettlands. Es wurde 1967 errichtet. Auf dem ehemaligen Appellplatz des Lagers stehen weithin sichtbar sieben überlebensgroße Skulpturen, die das Leid, die Zähheit und den Erfolg des Antifaschismus im Kampf gegen das NS-Regime verkörpern sollen.
Bild:Salaspils, 2009, Skulpturen auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Skulpturen auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz

Bild:Salaspils, 2009, Skulpturen auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Salaspils, 2009, Skulpturen auf dem Gelände der Gedenkstätte, Ronnie Golz
Name
Salaspils memoriāls
Adresse
Rīgas raj.
2121 Salaspils
Telefon
+371 (0)7 949 440
Öffnungszeiten
Das Denkmal ist jederzeit zugänglich.