• Monte Sole Historical Park / Peace School of Monte Sole
Between 1943 and 1945, German and Italian troops murdered a total of 955 partisans and civilians in various raids and »reprisal measures« in the area of the Monte Sole massif. The »Monte Sole Historical Park« has commemorated the victims since 1989. In 2002, the »Peace School Foundation of Monte Sole« began operating at the site. It is both a meeting centre and a place of civic education.
Image: Monte Sole, 2000, Ruins of the Cerpiano Oratorium, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Monte Sole, 2000, Ruins of the Cerpiano Oratorium, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Monte Sole is a massif about 20 kilometres south of Bologna. It is surrounded by a rural area, which today covers the communities of Marzabotto, Monzuno and Grizzana Moranti. In the summer of 1944, after the nearby »Gothic Line«, the German line of defence, had collapsed, the front line passed through the region of Monte Sole. The Italian communist partisan brigade »Stella Rossa« (English: Red Star) was active here. German units and Italian fascist militia carried out targeted terror operations in the region, also against the civilian population.
In September 1944, the commander of the 16th SS Panzergrenadier Division, Lieutenant General Max Simon, ordered a military operation in the region of Monte Sole with the aim of »exterminating partisan groups« and »cleanse enemy grounds«. This was undertaken between September 29 and October 5, 1944, under the command of Major Walter Reder, at a time when the front was only a few kilometres away from Monte Sole. The entire area was surrounded by about 1,000 soldiers and systematically searched. Among the soldiers were members of the SS and the Wehrmacht as well as members of the republican National Guard, the paramilitary militia of the fascist »Italian Social Republic«.
The troops were particularly brutal in their conduct, setting fire to houses, schools and churches, and killing civilians with great cruelty. Most of those murdered were women, children and elderly people. Many of the small homesteads and villages which once characterised the region are until today depopulated as a result of the terror.
Image: Monte Sole, 2000, Ruins of the Cerpiano Oratorium, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Monte Sole, 2000, Ruins of the Cerpiano Oratorium, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
In all, 955 people were murdered by German troops and Italian fascist militia in the communities of Marzabotto, Monzuno and Grizzana Moranti, across which the »Monte Sole Historical Park« now stretches. Between September 29 and October 5, 1944, 770 people were killed, among them 216 children, 316 women and 142 elderly people over sixty. The raids and »reprisal measures« took place in at least 115 villages, most of which are until this day in ruins.
Image: Monte Sole, 2000, Ruins of the village of Caprara, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Monte Sole, 2000, Ruins of the village of Caprara, Parco Storico di Monte Sole

Image: Monte Sole, 2010, Cross in the memorial park, Biblioteca Salaborsa
Monte Sole, 2010, Cross in the memorial park, Biblioteca Salaborsa
After the war, Max Simon was sentenced to death in Italy. However, the sentence was not carried out and Simon was pardoned already in 1954. Walter Reder was sentenced to life imprisonment in 1951. He was released from prison in 1985, after which he returned to his native Austria.
In 1989, the region of Emilia-Romagna established the »Monte Sole Historical Park«. In 2002, the »Peace School Foundation of Monte Sole« was founded in the centre of the historical park. The park covers almost the entire area of the Monte Sole massif, which was depopulated as a result of the targeted killings. Today, over half of the park area is covered in forest, the other parts contain fields, pastures and farms. Many traces of the murder operations are still visible, such as the ruins of the village Caprara or the church of Casaglia, once the religious and cultural centre of the region and where many civilians sought refuge during the raids. A monument on the peak of Monte Sole commemorates the approximately 420 partisans of the »Stella Rossa« brigade as well as their commander Mario Musolesi, called »the wolf« (Italian: il lupo). A memorial church to the victims from the region was dedicated in nearby Marzabotto in 1961.
The »Peace School Foundation Monte Sole«, which mainly targets youths, aims to promote international dialogue. The foundation serves as a meeting centre and offers workshops on themes such as non-violent conflict resolution, human rights and international understanding.
Image: Monte Sole, 2006, Ruins of the Casaglia village church, .arzan
Monte Sole, 2006, Ruins of the Casaglia village church, .arzan

Image: Monte Sole, 2006, Memorial plaques, Kiki Follettosa
Monte Sole, 2006, Memorial plaques, Kiki Follettosa
Name
Parco Storico di Monte Sole / Scuola di Pace di Monte Sole
Address
Pian di Venola
40043 Marzabotto
Phone
+39 051 931 574
Fax
+39 051 931 574
Web
http://www.montesole.org/
E-Mail
info@montesole.org
Open
The historical park is always accessible; all of the foundation's educational offers need to be booked in advance
Possibilities
International youth meetings, seminars, guided tours and other educational offers for adults and schools, publications, library, archive

• Historischer Park Monte Sole / Stiftung Friedensschule Monte Sole
In der Umgebung des Bergs Monte Sole ermordeten deutsche und italienische Einheiten zwischen 1943 und 1945 in verschiedenen Razzien und »Vergeltungsaktionen« insgesamt 955 Partisanen und Zivilisten.
Der »Historische Park Monte Sole« erinnert seit 1989 an die Opfer. In ihm ist seit 2002 die »Stiftung Friedensschule Monte Sole« tätig, ein Ort der Begegnung und der politischen Bildung.
Bild:Monte Sole, 2000, Ruinen des Oratoriums Cerpiano, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Monte Sole, 2000, Ruinen des Oratoriums Cerpiano, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Der Monte Sole ist ein zirka 20 km südlich von Bologna gelegener Berg. Um ihn herum erstreckt sich ein ländliches Gebiet, das heute die Gemeinden Marzabotto, Monzuno und Grizzana Moranti umfasst. Dort verlief nach dem Durchbruch der nahe gelegenen »Gotenstellung«, einer deutschen Verteidigungslinie, im Sommer 1944 die Front. In dieser Gegend war die kommunistische italienische Partisanenbrigade »Stella Rossa« (deutsch: Roter Stern) aktiv. Deutsche Truppen und italienische faschistische Milizen führten hier gezielte Terroraktionen auch gegen die Zivilbevölkerung durch.
Im September 1944 gab der Kommandeur der 16. SS-Panzergrenadierdivision, Generalleutnant Max Simon den Befehl zu einer Militäroperation im Gebiet Monte Sole mit dem Ziel, »Partisanengruppen zu vernichten« und »das Feindesgebiet zu säubern«. Dies geschah unter der Leitung des Majors Walter Reder zwischen dem 29. September und dem 5. Oktober 1944, als die Front nur noch wenige Kilometer vom Monte Sole entfernt verlief. Das gesamte Gebiet wurde von rund 1000 Soldaten umzingelt und systematisch durchkämmt. Unter den Soldaten befanden sich neben SS- und Wehrmachtsangehörigen auch Mitglieder der Republikanischen Nationalgarde, der paramilitärischen Miliz der faschistischen »Italienischen Sozialrepublik«.
Die Soldaten gingen mit großer Brutalität vor. Sie setzten Häuser, Schulen und Kirchen in Brand und töteten Zivilisten oft auf grausame Art und Weise. Die Mehrheit der Ermordeten waren Frauen, Kinder und Alte. Der Großteil der einst von vielen kleinen Gehöften und Dörfern geprägten Gegend ist heute noch als Folge dieses Terrors entvölkert.
Bild:Monte Sole, 2000, Ruinen des Oratoriums Cerpiano, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Monte Sole, 2000, Ruinen des Oratoriums Cerpiano, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
In den Gemeinden Marzabotto, Monzuno und Grizzana Moranti, auf die sich der »Historische Park Monte Sole« erstreckt, wurden insgesamt 955 Personen von deutschen Truppen und faschistischen Milizen ermordet. Zwischen dem 29. September und dem 5. Oktober 1944 waren es 770 Menschen, darunter 216 Kinder, 316 Frauen und 142 Alte über sechzig. Die Razzien und »Vergeltungsaktionen« fanden an mindestens 115 Orten statt, von denen die meisten heute noch Ruinen sind.
Bild:Monte Sole, 2000, Ruinen des Dorfes Caprara, Parco Storico di Monte Sole
Monte Sole, 2000, Ruinen des Dorfes Caprara, Parco Storico di Monte Sole

Bild:Monte Sole, 2010, Kreuz im Gedenkpark, Biblioteca Salaborsa
Monte Sole, 2010, Kreuz im Gedenkpark, Biblioteca Salaborsa
Max Simon wurde nach dem Krieg in Italien zum Tode verurteilt. Das Urteil wurde jedoch nicht vollstreckt und Simon bereits 1954 begnadigt. Walter Reder wurde 1951 zu lebenslanger Haft verurteilt. Er durfte das Gefängnis 1985 verlassen und kehrte in sein heimatliches Österreich zurück.
1989 richtete die Region Emilia-Romagna den »Historischen Park Monte Sole« ein. Die Gründung der »Stiftung Friedensschule Monte Sole« im Zentrum des »Historischen Parks« folgte 2002. Der Park erstreckt sich fast über das gesamte Gebiet Monte Sole, das durch die Mordaktionen entvölkert wurde. Über die Hälfte des Areals ist heute von Wald bedeckt, in den übrigen Teilen gibt es Wiesen, Weiden und etwas Landwirtschaft. Es sind viele Spuren der Mordaktionen sichtbar, zum Beispiel die Ruinen des Dorfes Caprara oder der Kirche von Casaglia, die einst das religiöse und kulturelle Zentrum des Gebiets bildete und in die sich während der Überfälle viele Einwohner flüchteten. Auf dem Gipfel des Monte Sole erinnert ein Gedenkstein an die rund 420 Partisanen der Brigade »Stella Rossa« sowie an ihren Kommandanten Mario Musolesi, genannt »der Wolf« (italienisch: il lupo). Im nahe gelegenen Marzabotto wurde 1961 eine Gedächtniskirche für alle Opfer aus der Region eingeweiht.
Die »Stiftung Friedensschule Monte Sole« richtet sich insbesondere an Jugendliche und möchte den internationalen Dialog fördern. Sie bietet einen Ort der Begegnung und organisiert Workshops über Themen wie gewaltfreie Konfliktlösung, Menschenrechte und Völkerverständigung.
Bild:Monte Sole, 2006, Ruinen der Kirche des Dorfes Casaglia, .arzan
Monte Sole, 2006, Ruinen der Kirche des Dorfes Casaglia, .arzan

Bild:Monte Sole, 2006, Gedenktafeln, Kiki Follettosa
Monte Sole, 2006, Gedenktafeln, Kiki Follettosa
Name
Parco Storico di Monte Sole / Scuola di Pace di Monte Sole
Adresse
Pian di Venola
40043 Marzabotto
Telefon
+39 051 931 574
Fax
+39 051 931 574
Web
http://www.montesole.org/
E-Mail
info@montesole.org
Öffnungszeiten
Der historische Park ist uneingeschränkt zugänglich, Bildungsangebote der Stiftung müssen im Voraus gebucht werden.
Angebot
Internationale Jugendbegegnungen, Seminare, Führungen und weitere Bildungsangebote für Erwachsene und Schulen, Publikationen, Bibliothek, Archiv