• Husum-Schwesing Concentration Camp Memorial
The »Husum-Schwesing Concentration Camp Memorial« is located close to the North Frisian city of Husum, not far from the township of Schwesing. From September until December 1944, up to 2,500 prisoners had to conduct forced labour in this camp constructing the »Frisian Wall« fortifications.
Image: Husum, 2003, Red brick memorial building, A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Red brick memorial building, A. Wagner
After the Allies had landed in Normandy in June 1944, Adolf Hitler issued an order on August 28, 1944, for the construction of a system of fortifications along the German North Sea coast and the Danish border. Several forced labour camps were established for this purpose. On September 25, 1944, the SS brought about 1,500 male prisoners from the Neuengamme concentration camp to Schwesing near Husum. The prisoners were accommodated in a barracks camp which had initially been built for the Reichsarbeitsdienst (RAD, Reich Labour Service) to house 400 people. The camp was renamed »Husum-Schwesing satellite camp«. On October 20, a further transport of 1,000 prisoners from the Neuengamme central camp arrived, meaning there were close to 2,500 people incarcerated at Husum-Schwesing. On November 1, the prisoners who had arrived last were deported to the Ladelund satellite camp. The prisoners in Husum-Schwesing were deployed in forced labour constructing fortifications. Most of them had to dig anti-tank trenches. The work was physically exhausting and the prisoners were constantly abused by the Kapos. For the most part the prisoners were forced to stand in water, which leaked from the tunnel openings they were digging. Many fell ill and died in Husum-Schwesing due to the hard labour, scant food supplies and lack of hygienic facilities: about six prisoners died each day, about half of the inmates were sick. The camp was shut down on December 29, 1944, after the military situation had developed differently than previously expected by the Germans. The SS transported the prisoners back to the Neuengamme concentration camp. The »Frisian Wall« was never completed.
Image: Husum, 2003, Red brick memorial building, A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Red brick memorial building, A. Wagner
The majority of the prisoners in Husum-Schwesing came from the Netherlands. Other large prisoner groups came from France, Denmark and Poland. Moreover, there were inmates from the Soviet Union, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Yugoslavia, the Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia (today the Czech Republic), and Spain. It can only be estimated how many people perished in Husum: it is assumed that there were between 300 and 400 fatalities.
Image: Husum, 2003, Field of stelae bearing the names of victims, A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Field of stelae bearing the names of victims, A. Wagner

Image: Husum, 2003, Information panel on the Husum-Schwesing satellite camp, A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Information panel on the Husum-Schwesing satellite camp, A. Wagner
The »Husum-Schwesing Concentration Camp Workgroup« published a history of the Husum-Schwesing satellite camp in 1983. Between 1985 and 1994, the community of Northern Friesland purchased large parts of the former camp premises. On November 27, 1987, a memorial was dedicated on the ground. Information panels present the camp's history, and located in a red brick building is a model of the former satellite camp. A barred window and narrow distances between the walls symbolise the crowded atmosphere of camp life. In 2000, the old camp path was excavated. Located on the premises since 2001 is a »field of stelae« made of rusting metal columns bearing inscriptions of the names of those who perished at Husum-Schwesing. Each one of the over 300 stelae represent one victim.
Image: Husum, 2003, Interior view of the memorial, A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Interior view of the memorial, A. Wagner

Name
KZ-Gedenkstätte Husum-Schwesing
Phone
+49 (0)4841 8973-0
Fax
+49 (0)4841 8973-111
Web
http://www.nordfriesland.de
Open
The memorial is accessible at all times.

• KZ-Gedenkstätte Husum-Schwesing
In der Nähe der nordfriesischen Stadt Husum und der Ortschaft Schwesing befindet sich die »KZ-Gedenkstätte Husum-Schwesing«. Von September bis Ende Dezember 1944 mussten bis zu 2.500 Häftlinge bei der Errichtung der Festungsanlage »Friesenwall« Zwangsarbeit leisten.
Bild:Husum, 2003, Backsteingebäude als Mahnmal,  A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Backsteingebäude als Mahnmal, A. Wagner
Nach der Landung alliierter Truppen in der Normandie im Juni 1944 befahl Adolf Hitler am 28. August 1944 den Bau einer Befestigungsanlage an der deutschen Nordseeküste und der dänischen Grenze. Zu diesem Zweck wurden mehrere Zwangsarbeitslager entlang der Küste errichtet. Am 25. September 1944 transportierte die SS etwa 1.500 männliche Häftlinge aus dem Konzentrationslager (KZ) Neuengamme nach Schwesing bei Husum. Die Häftlinge wurden in einem Barackenlager untergebracht, das ursprünglich der Reichsarbeitsdienst (RAD) für 400 Personen errichtet hatte. Fortan hieß das Lager »Außenlager Husum-Schwesing«. Am 20. Oktober traf ein weiterer Transport mit 1.000 Häftlingen aus dem Stammlager Neuengamme ein, so dass sich zwischenzeitlich fast 2.500 Menschen in Husum-Schwesing befanden. Am 1. November wurden die zuletzt eingetroffenen Häftlinge in das Außenlager Ladelund weiterverschleppt. Die Häftlinge in Husum-Schwesing mussten beim Bau der Befestigungen Zwangsarbeit leisten. Der größte Teil von ihnen musste Panzergräben ausheben. Bei dieser schweren körperlichen Arbeit, immer den Schikanierungen der Kapos und der Wachmannschaften ausgesetzt, standen die Zwangsarbeiter meistens schon nach kurzer Zeit im Wasser, das aus dem Boden der Schächte trat. Aufgrund der schweren Arbeit, der unzureichenden Ernährung und der fehlenden hygienischen Versorgung gab es viele Krankheiten und Todesfälle in Husum-Schwesing: Jeden Tag starben etwa sechs Menschen, fast die Hälfte aller Häftlinge war krank. Da die militärische Lage sich im Winter 1944 anders entwickelte als von deutscher Seite erwartet, wurde das Lager am 29. Dezember 1944 wieder aufgelöst. Die SS brachte die Häftlinge zurück in das Stammlager Neuengamme. Der »Friesenwall« wurde nie fertig gestellt.
Bild:Husum, 2003, Backsteingebäude als Mahnmal,  A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Backsteingebäude als Mahnmal, A. Wagner
Der größte Teil der Häftlinge in Husum-Schwesing kam aus den Niederlanden. Weitere größere Gruppen bildeten Franzosen, Dänen und Polen. Es gab aber auch Häftlinge aus der Sowjetunion, aus Deutschland, Belgien, Italien, Jugoslawien, dem Protektorat Böhmen und Mähren (heute Tschechische Republik) und Spanien. Wie viele Menschen in Husum starben kann nur geschätzt werden. Wahrscheinlich gab es zwischen 300 und 400 Todesopfer.
Bild:Husum, 2003, Stelenfeld mit Namen der Todesopfer, A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Stelenfeld mit Namen der Todesopfer, A. Wagner

Bild:Husum, 2003, Informationstafel zum Außenlager Husum-Schwesing, A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Informationstafel zum Außenlager Husum-Schwesing, A. Wagner
Die »KZ-Arbeitsgruppe Husum-Schwesing« veröffentlichte 1983 die Geschichte des Außenlagers Husum-Schwesing in Husum. Von 1985 bis 1994 kaufte der Kreis Nordfriesland große Teile des ehemaligen Lagergeländes an. Am 27. November 1987 wurde eine Gedenkstätte auf dem Gelände eingeweiht. Neben Informationstafeln befindet sich dort ein Backsteingebäude, in dem ein Modell des ehemaligen Außenlagers zu sehen ist. Ein vergittertes Fenster und nah aneinander stehende Wände sollen die Enge des Lageralltags symbolisieren. Im Jahr 2000 wurde die alte Lagerstraße freigelegt. Seit 2001 befindet sich auf dem Gelände auch ein »Stelenfeld« aus rostigen Metallsäulen, auf denen Namen der Todesopfer von Husum-Schwesing zu lesen sind. Jede dieser über 300 Stelen steht für einen Toten.
Bild:Husum, 2003, Innenansicht des Mahnmals,  A. Wagner
Husum, 2003, Innenansicht des Mahnmals, A. Wagner

Name
KZ-Gedenkstätte Husum-Schwesing
Telefon
+49 (0)4841 8973-0
Fax
+49 (0)4841 8973-111
Web
http://www.nordfriesland.de
Öffnungszeiten
Jederzeit zugänglich.