• Lidice Memorial
In June 1942, the village of Lidice was annihilated by National Socialists in an act of retribution. Today, a museum, a gallery and a park on the site where the village used to stand commemorate the crime and its victims.
Image: Lidice, undated, Lidice before and after its destruction, Památník Lidice
Lidice, undated, Lidice before and after its destruction, Památník Lidice

Image: Lidice, 2000, The memorial which was dedicated in 1962, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, The memorial which was dedicated in 1962, Památník Lidice
Lidice, a small community north-west of Prague, had about 500 residents in 1942. After the chief of the Reich Main Security Office (RSHA) and deputy Reich protector for Bohemia and Moravia Reinhard Heydrich died of the injuries he suffered during an assassination attempt which had been carried out by Czech resistance fighters on June 4, 1942, a wave of brutal retributive actions was set in motion. The Gestapo suspected a farmer's family of having been in touch with the assassins because their son was a member of the Czech army in exile in Great Britain.
The German occupiers wanted to set an example at the farm: In the night of June 9/10, 1942, units of the Kladno Schutzpolizei (protection police), the Gestapo and the Wehrmacht marched into the village. All of the village residents were arrested and all men were shot on the farm of the family under suspicion. The Germans then set fire to the buildings and finally levelled the village to the ground. The women and children were brought to the nearby town of Kladno, where they were incarcerated in a sports hall for three days. The children were then brutally separated from the women. The women were later deported to the Ravensbrück concentration camp, the children were brought to the Łódź ghetto. 82 of them were deported to the Chelmno extermination camp and asphyxiated with exhaust fumes in gas vans. Only 17 children from Lidice, whom the SS considered to be »worthy of Germanising«, survived the war in educational facilities or in the care of German foster families.
Image: Lidice, undated, Lidice before and after its destruction, Památník Lidice
Lidice, undated, Lidice before and after its destruction, Památník Lidice

Image: Lidice, 2000, The memorial which was dedicated in 1962, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, The memorial which was dedicated in 1962, Památník Lidice
173 men were shot on the spot in the course of the retributive action. 7 women were executed in the Protectorate in June 1942, 50 further women perished in concentration camps. 82 children were asphyxiated in gas vans in the Kulmhof extermination camp. Only 143 women and 17 children of Lidice's pre-war population survived the war.
Image: Lidice, 1942, The corpses of the murdered men in front of the farm of the family under suspicion, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 1942, The corpses of the murdered men in front of the farm of the family under suspicion, Památník Lidice

Image: Lidice, 2000, Memorial to the murdered children, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, Memorial to the murdered children, Památník Lidice
In 1947, Czechoslovakia began constructing a new township under the same name for the returning survivors. The new settlement was established in close vicinity of the former village of Lidice. A symbolic grave and a monument to the murdered men were set up. In 1955, the »Rose Garden of Friendship and Peace« in honour of the victims was inaugurated. In 1962, a memorial and a small museum were opened. In 2000, a group of sculptures depicting the murdered children of Lidice was erected on the memorial premises. Sculptor Marie Uchytilová worked on the sculptures from 1969 until her death in 1989; the bronze casts were created in the 1990s thanks to donations from the Czech Republic and from abroad. In 2003, the memorial was extended by a gallery which is located in the new village.
Image: Lidice, 2000, Ruins of the former village, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, Ruins of the former village, Památník Lidice

Image: Lidice, 2000, View of the memorial to the murdered children, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, View of the memorial to the murdered children, Památník Lidice
Name
Památník Lidice
Phone
+420 (0)312 253 702
Fax
+420 (0)312 253 063
Web
http://www.lidice-memorial.cz
E-Mail
lidice@lidice-memorial.cz
Open
Museum: November to February daily 9.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m., March 9.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m., April to October daily 9.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m.
Gallery: November to February 10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m., March to October 10.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.
Possibilities
Permanent exhibition, temporary exhibitions, workshops for children in the art gallery's educational centre, annual commemorative ceremonies on June 10, the anniversary of the village's annihilation

• Gedenkstätte Lidice
Im Juni 1942 wurde das Dorf Lidice (deutsch: Liditz) im Zuge einer nationalsozialistischen Vergeltungsaktion ausgelöscht. Wo sich früher das Dorf befand, erinnern heute ein Museum, eine Galerie und ein Park an das Verbrechen und an die Opfer.
Bild:Lidice, o.D., Lidice vor und nach der Zerstörung, Památník Lidice
Lidice, o.D., Lidice vor und nach der Zerstörung, Památník Lidice

Bild:Lidice, 2000, Die 1962 eingeweihte Gedenkstätte, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, Die 1962 eingeweihte Gedenkstätte, Památník Lidice
In Lidice, einem kleinen Ort nordwestlich von Prag, lebten 1942 etwa 500 Menschen. Nachdem der Chef des Reichsicherheitshauptamts und stellvertretender Reichsprotektor für Böhmen und Mähren Reinhard Heydrich an den Folgen des Attentats von tschechischen Widerstandskämpfern am 4. Juni 1942 starb, begann eine Welle von brutalen Vergeltungsmaßnahmen im Protektorat. So verdächtigte die Gestapo eine Bauernfamilie in Lidice mit den Attentätern in Kontakt zu stehen, da ein Sohn der Familie Mitglied der tschechischen Exilarmee in Großbritannien war. Die deutschen Besatzer wollten auf dem Bauernhof ein Exempel statuieren.
In der Nacht vom 9. auf den 10. Juni 1942 kamen Einheiten der Kladnoer Schutzpolizei, der Gestapo und der Wehrmacht ins Dorf. Alle Einwohner wurden verhaftet und sämtliche Männer auf dem Hof der verdächtigten Familie erschossen. Anschließend zündeten die Besatzer die Häuser an und machten das Dorf später dem Erdboden gleich. Die Frauen und Kinder brachten sie in die nahe gelegene Stadt Kladno, wo sie drei Tage in einer Turnhalle festgehalten wurden. Danach wurden die Kinder gewaltsam von den Frauen getrennt. Die Frauen wurden später ins Konzentrationslager Ravensbrück verschleppt, die Kinder ins Ghetto Lodz. 82 von ihnen deportierte die SS von dort ins Vernichtungslager Kulmhof und erstickte sie durch Motorabgase in LKW. Lediglich 17 Kinder aus Lidice, die die SS als »eindeutschungswürdig« betrachtete, überlebten in Erziehungsanstalten oder bei deutschen Pflegefamilien den Krieg.
Bild:Lidice, o.D., Lidice vor und nach der Zerstörung, Památník Lidice
Lidice, o.D., Lidice vor und nach der Zerstörung, Památník Lidice

Bild:Lidice, 2000, Die 1962 eingeweihte Gedenkstätte, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, Die 1962 eingeweihte Gedenkstätte, Památník Lidice
Bei der Vergeltungsaktion in Lidice wurden 173 Männer noch vor Ort erschossen. 7 Frauen wurden noch im Juni 1942 im Protektorat hingerichtet, 50 starben in Konzentrationslagern. 82 Kinder sind im Vernichtungslager Kulmhof vergast worden. Von den früheren Einwohnern des Dorfes überlebten lediglich 143 Frauen und 17 Kinder den Krieg.
Bild:Lidice, 1942, Die Leichen der ermordeten Männer vor dem Bauernhof der verdächtigten Familie, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 1942, Die Leichen der ermordeten Männer vor dem Bauernhof der verdächtigten Familie, Památník Lidice

Bild:Lidice, 2000, Denkmal für die ermordeten Kinder, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, Denkmal für die ermordeten Kinder, Památník Lidice
1947 begann die Tschechoslowakei damit, den zurückgekehrten Überlebenden in der Nähe des ehemaligen Dorfes Lidice eine neue Ortschaft mit dem gleichen Namen aufzubauen. Es entstanden eine Gedenkstätte sowie ein symbolisches Grab für die ermordeten Männer. 1955 konnte schließlich der »Rosengarten der Freundschaft und des Friedens« zum Gedenken an die Opfer eingeweiht werden. 1962 wurden die Gedenkstätte sowie ein kleines Museum eröffnet. Seit 2000 steht eine Skulpturengruppe auf dem Gelände, die die ermordeten Kinder aus Lidice darstellen soll. Die Bildhauerin Marie Uchytilová arbeitete von 1969 bis zu ihrem Tod 1989 an dem Werk, die Bronzeabgüsse entstanden in den 1990er Jahren mit Hilfe von Spenden aus Tschechien und dem Ausland. Seit 2003 ergänzt eine Kunstgalerie das Angebot der Gedenkstätte, sie befindet sich im neuen Dorf.
Bild:Lidice, 2000, Ruinen des ehemaligen Dorfes, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, Ruinen des ehemaligen Dorfes, Památník Lidice

Bild:Lidice, 2000, Ansicht des Denkmals für die ermodeten Kinder, Památník Lidice
Lidice, 2000, Ansicht des Denkmals für die ermodeten Kinder, Památník Lidice
Name
Památník Lidice
Telefon
+420 (0)312 253 702
Fax
+420 (0)312 253 063
Web
http://www.lidice-memorial.cz
E-Mail
lidice@lidice-memorial.cz
Öffnungszeiten
Museum: November bis Februar täglich 9.00 bis 16.00, März 9.00 bis 17.00, April bis Oktober täglich 9.00 bis 18.00
Galerie: November bis Februar 10.00 bis 16.00, März bis Oktober täglich 10.00 bis 17.00.
Angebot
Dauerausstellung, Wechselausstellungen, Workshops für Kinder im Bildungszentrum der Kunstgalerie, jährliche Gedenkfeier am 10. Juni, dem Jahrestag der Vernichtung des Dorfes