• The Vilna Gaon Jewish State Museum
The Jewish Museum in Vilnius (Polish: Wilno, Yiddish: Vilne) is considered to be the social and cultural centre of Lithuania's Jewish community today. The museum attempts to reconstruct Jewish life in Vilnius, which was destroyed under Soviet and national socialist occupation, in parts of its exhibition. Since 1991, the museum has been displaying a permanent exhibit on the Holocaust in Lithuania.
Image: Vilnius, before 1939, Arched gateway in the historic Jewish Quarter, Tomasz Wiśniewski
Vilnius, before 1939, Arched gateway in the historic Jewish Quarter, Tomasz Wiśniewski

Image: Vilnius, 2004, Entrance to the »Tolerance Centre« which was opened in 2001, Stiftung Denkmal
Vilnius, 2004, Entrance to the »Tolerance Centre« which was opened in 2001, Stiftung Denkmal
Vilnius, the »Jerusalem of the East«, was home to one of the most important centres of Jewish learning worldwide since the 18th century. Several Talmudic academies and synagogues were part of the city's landscape. One of the most famous Talmudic scholars, the Great Gaon of Vilnius, lived and taught in the city in the 18th century. The museum is named after him.
In 1920, Vilnius and surrounding areas were incorporated into Poland; in September 1939, after the invasion of Poland, Vilnius was integrated into Lithuania again. Jewish life in Vilnius suffered severe restrictions under Soviet occupation - Jewish culture was suppressed and Jewish property confiscated. After the German invasion in the summer of 1941, the new occupiers shut down all Jewish schools and destroyed nearly all of the city's approximately 100 synagogues. At the beginning of September 1941, the authorities ordered the establishment of a strictly closed off ghetto for all the Jewish residents of the city.
German and especially Lithuanian members of the SS murdered around 60,000 Jews from Vilnius in the nearby town of Paneriai (Polish: Ponary). Located there was one of the largest mass shooting sites in national socialist occupied Europe.
Image: Vilnius, before 1939, Arched gateway in the historic Jewish Quarter, Tomasz Wiśniewski
Vilnius, before 1939, Arched gateway in the historic Jewish Quarter, Tomasz Wiśniewski

Image: Vilnius, 2004, Entrance to the »Tolerance Centre« which was opened in 2001, Stiftung Denkmal
Vilnius, 2004, Entrance to the »Tolerance Centre« which was opened in 2001, Stiftung Denkmal
60,000 Jewish children, women and men from Vilnius perished in the ghetto or were shot by German and Lithuanian members of the SS in Paneriai.
Image: Vilnius, 2004,  The »Green House« which is home to an exhibit about the Holocaust in Lithuania, Stiftung Denkmal
Vilnius, 2004, The »Green House« which is home to an exhibit about the Holocaust in Lithuania, Stiftung Denkmal
Vilnius had been home to a Jewish museum since 1913. The museum was nationalised under Soviet occupation in 1940 and from 1941 used by the Germans as a storage facility for looted goods of cultural heritage. In 1944, Holocaust survivors re-established the museum, only for it to be closed again by the Soviet authorities in 1949. In the following years there were no Jewish institutions in Soviet-annexed Lithuania. Only forty years later did the authorities gave permission for the re-opening of the Jewish museum.
In 1991, after the Lithuanian state regained independence, a permanent exhibit about the Holocaust in Lithuania entitled »The Catastrophe« was opened in the »Green House« in Pamėnkalnio gatvė 12. Apart from the Holocaust exhibit, the Jewish museum has four branches: the Tolerance Centre in Naugarduko gatvė 10/2, a further exhibition about synagogues and testimonies of Jewish life in Lithuania housed in the former Jewish gymnasium in Pylimo gatvė 4, the Paneriai Memorial Museum as well as the Museum of Jacques Lipchitz in Druskininkai.
The Tolerance Centre was inaugurated in 2001 in the building of the former Jewish theatre in Naugarduko gatvė 10/2. It regularly hosts cultural and educational events. The educational programme of the Centre primarily deals with fighting against anti-Semitism and racism. Its aim is to make tolerance a fundamental value in society.
Image: Vilnius, 2004, Entrance to the »Green House«, Stiftung Denkmal
Vilnius, 2004, Entrance to the »Green House«, Stiftung Denkmal

Image: Vilnius, 2009, View of the exhibition in the »Green House«, Ronnie Golz
Vilnius, 2009, View of the exhibition in the »Green House«, Ronnie Golz
Name
Valstybinis Vilniaus Gaono žydų muziejus
Address
Naugarduko gatvė 10/2
01114 Vilnius
Phone
+370 (85) 262 073 0
Fax
+370 (85) 212 708 3
Web
http://www.jmuseum.lt
E-Mail
jewishmuseum@jmuseum.lt
Open
Holocaust exhibit: Monday to Thursday
9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Sunday 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Tolerance Centre: Monday to Thursday
Friday: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Sunday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Possibilities
Tours of the exhibitions and through the former Jewish Quarter in the Old Town (by appointment), newsletter (appears regularly and is available online), educational programmes of the Tolerance Centre

• Staatliches Jüdisches Museum »Gaon von Wilna«
Das Jüdische Museum in Wilna (litauisch: Vilnius, polnisch: Wilno, jiddisch: Wilne) gilt als das soziale und kulturelle Zentrum der heutigen jüdischen Gemeinschaft in Litauen.
In Teilen der Ausstellung versucht das Museum, das während der sowjetischen und nationalsozialistischen Besatzungszeit vernichtete jüdische Leben in Wilna zu rekonstruieren. Seit 1991 zeigt das Museum eine Dauerausstellung über den Holocaust in Litauen.
Bild:Wilna, vor 1939, Torbogen im historischen jüdischen Viertel, Tomasz Wiśniewski
Wilna, vor 1939, Torbogen im historischen jüdischen Viertel, Tomasz Wiśniewski

Bild:Wilna, 2004, Eingang zum 2001 eröffneten »Zentrum für Toleranz«, Stiftung Denkmal
Wilna, 2004, Eingang zum 2001 eröffneten »Zentrum für Toleranz«, Stiftung Denkmal
In Wilna, dem »Jerusalem des Ostens«, befand sich seit dem 18. Jahrhundert eines der bedeutendsten Zentren jüdischer Gelehrsamkeit weltweit. Mehrere Talmudhochschulen und zahllose Synagogen prägten das Stadtbild. Einer der bekanntesten jüdischen Talmudgelehrten, der große Gaon von Wilna, lebte und lehrte im 18. Jahrhundert in der Stadt. Nach ihm ist das Jüdische Museum benannt.
Ab 1920 gehörten Wilna und Umgebung zu Polen, bis sie nach der Zerschlagung des polnischen Staates im September 1939 wieder zu Litauen kamen. Durch die sowjetische Besetzung Litauens ab 1940 erfuhr das jüdische Leben auch in Wilna einen jähen Einschnitt - die neuen Behörden unterdrückten die jüdische Kultur und beschlagnahmten Eigentum von Juden. Nach dem deutschen Einmarsch im Sommer 1941 schlossen die Besatzer die jüdischen Schulen und zerstörten fast alle der ungefähr einhundert Synagogen in der Stadt. Anfang September 1941 befahlen die Behörden die Errichtung eines streng abgeriegelten Ghettos für sämtliche jüdischen Einwohner Wilnas.
Deutsche und vor allem litauische SS-Angehörige ermordeten etwa 60.000 Juden aus Wilna in der nahegelegenen Kleinstadt Ponary (jiddisch: Ponar, litauisch: Paneriai). Dort befand sich eine der größten Erschießungsstätten im nationalsozialistisch besetzten Europa.
Bild:Wilna, vor 1939, Torbogen im historischen jüdischen Viertel, Tomasz Wiśniewski
Wilna, vor 1939, Torbogen im historischen jüdischen Viertel, Tomasz Wiśniewski

Bild:Wilna, 2004, Eingang zum 2001 eröffneten »Zentrum für Toleranz«, Stiftung Denkmal
Wilna, 2004, Eingang zum 2001 eröffneten »Zentrum für Toleranz«, Stiftung Denkmal
Insgesamt starben etwa 60.000 jüdische Kinder, Frauen und Männer aus Wilna: Sie wurden von deutschen und litauischen SS-Angehörigen in Ponary erschossen oder kamen im Ghetto um.
Bild:Wilna, 2004, Das »Grüne Haus« mit einer Ausstellung über den Holocaust in Litauen, Stiftung Denkmal
Wilna, 2004, Das »Grüne Haus« mit einer Ausstellung über den Holocaust in Litauen, Stiftung Denkmal
Seit 1913 gab es in Wilna ein Jüdisches Museum, das mit der sowjetischen Besetzung 1940 verstaatlicht und ab 1941 von den deutschen Behörden als Lager für geraubte Kulturgüter missbraucht wurde. Bereits 1944 konnte es auf Initiative von Holocaustüberlebenden erneut als Museum öffnen, bis es auf Weisung der sowjetischen Machthaber 1949 seine Arbeit einstellen musste. In der folgenden Zeit gab es im sowjetisch annektierten Litauen keinerlei jüdische Institutionen mehr. Erst vierzig Jahre später genehmigten die Behörden die Neueröffnung des Jüdischen Museums.
Nachdem Litauen seine staatlichen Unabhängigkeit wiedererlangt hatte, wurde 1991 von den Museumsbetreibern die Dauerausstellung »Die Katastrophe« über den Holocaust in Litauen im »Grünen Haus« in der Pamėnkalnio gatvė 12 eröffnet. Neben der Holocaustausstellung gehören vier weitere Außenstellen zum Jüdischen Museum: das Zentrum für Toleranz mit Sitz in der Naugarduko gatvė 10/2, eine weitere Ausstellung über Synagogen und Zeugnisse jüdischen Lebens in Litauen im ehemaligen jüdischen Kulturgymnasium in der Pylimo gatvė 4, die Denkmalanlage in Ponary sowie das Jacques-Lipchitz-Erinnerungsmuseum in Druskininkai.
Das Zentrum für Toleranz wurde 2001 im Gebäude des ehemaligen jüdischen Theaters in der Naugarduko gatvė 10/2 eingeweiht. Dort finden regelmäßig Kultur- und Bildungsveranstaltungen statt. Bildungsangebote des Zentrums richten sich gegen Antisemitismus und Rassismus. Selbsterklärtes Ziel ist es, den Wert von Toleranz in der Gesellschaft zu verankern.
Bild:Wilna, 2004, Eingang zum »Grünen Haus«, Stiftung Denkmal
Wilna, 2004, Eingang zum »Grünen Haus«, Stiftung Denkmal

Bild:Wilna, 2009, Blick in die Ausstellung im »Grünen Haus«, Ronnie Golz
Wilna, 2009, Blick in die Ausstellung im »Grünen Haus«, Ronnie Golz
Name
Valstybinis Vilniaus Gaono žydų muziejus
Adresse
Naugarduko gatvė 10/2
01114 Vilnius
Telefon
+370 (85) 262 073 0
Fax
+370 (85) 212 708 3
Web
http://www.jmuseum.lt
E-Mail
jewishmuseum@jmuseum.lt
Öffnungszeiten
Holocaustausstellung: montags bis donnerstags 9.00 bis 17.00 Uhr, sonntags 9.00 bis 16.00 Uhr
Zentrum für Toleranz: montags bis donnerstags 10.00 bis 18.00 Uhr, sonntags 10.00 bis 16.00 Uhr
Angebot
Ausstellungsführungen und Führungen durch das ehemalige jüdische Viertel der Altstadt (nach Voranmeldung), Newsletter (erscheint regelmäßig und ist auch im Internet abrufbar), Bildungsangebote des Zentrums für Toleranz