• Münchner Platz Dresden Memorial
Until 1956, political opponents of numerous regimes were put to trial and sentenced at the Dresden Regional Court: under National Socialism, during the Soviet occupation and under the dictatorship of the SED party (Socialist Unity Party of Germany). The people were held in custody at the site and death sentences were performed by hanging in the building's courtyard. The exhibition at the Münchner Platz Dresden Memorial commemorates the fates of the victims.
Image: Dresden, around 1910, Royal Saxon Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Dresden, around 1910, Royal Saxon Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden

Image: Dresden, undated, Building of the former Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
Dresden, undated, Building of the former Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
The Royal Saxon Regional Court was established in 1907. Since 1933, the National Socialists used it as a courthouse, a detention centre and an execution site. Saxon Special Courts, the »People's Court« and the Posen (today: Poznań, Poland) Higher Regional Court conducted a part of their trials here. Until about 1937, judgement was mostly passed on communists, social democrats and Jehovah's Witnesses, convicting them to long terms of imprisonment. Between 1937 and the beginning of the Second World War, more and more people were convicted of having breached the National Socialist race laws or of having criticised the regime. The number of death sentences that were carried out at the Dresden Regional Court rose substantially after the beginning of the war. Many of those executed here were political opponents from the Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia as well as from the Sudetenland. After sentences had been passed by the Regional and Higher Regional Courts, the verdicts were carried out at the Münchner Platz execution site. Until February 1945, when the building was destroyed in an air raid, over 1,300 convicted men and women were executed by guillotine in the court's inner yard.
After the end of the war, Soviet security agencies used the courthouse as a detention centre, an interrogation site and a transit prison. Soviet military tribunals sentenced members of the NSDAP, people under arbitrary arrest and opponents of Stalinisation to long terms of imprisonment or to death. Others were taken to so called special camps without having been officially sentenced. At the same time, trials under the German judicial system concerning National Socialist crimes and later increasingly of critics and opponents of the SED regime took place in the building. Between 1952 and 1956, it was the central execution site of the German Democratic Republic's judicial system. There is evidence on the execution of 66 people during that period.
Image: Dresden, around 1910, Royal Saxon Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Dresden, around 1910, Royal Saxon Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden

Image: Dresden, undated, Building of the former Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
Dresden, undated, Building of the former Regional Court at Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
Evidence shows that between January 30, 1933, and February 8, 1945, 1,328 men and women were executed by guillotine in the building at Münchner Platz. Between destruction of the guillotine in February 1945 and the end of the war, an unknown number of people was shot in the execution yard. Around two thirds of the victims were Czech men and women. Among the victims were also German Wehrmacht deserters and anti-war activists who had been sentenced to death. Until July 1, 1943, when Jews were completely deprived of the right to trial by jury, Jews too were executed at Münchner Platz.
Image: No place given, around 1930, Margarete Blank, a medical doctor who was executed in the Regional Court's inner yard in February 1945, Sächsisches Staatsarchiv Leipzig
No place given, around 1930, Margarete Blank, a medical doctor who was executed in the Regional Court's inner yard in February 1945, Sächsisches Staatsarchiv Leipzig

At the end of the 1950s, the building of the former Regional Court was acquired by the Dresden Technical College. In 1959, a »Memorial to the Antifascist Resistance Struggle« was opened in the part of the building that had once been the execution site. The exhibition only told about victims of the National Socialist regime. In 1992, the Münchner-Platz-Komitee e.V. (Münchner Platz Committee) organisation was founded as the memorial's sponsoring body. Since then, the research and educational work of the memorial also deals with the post-war verdicts and executions which took place at Münchner Platz. Since 1994, the Münchner Platz Dresden Memorial has been under administration of the Saxon Memorial Foundation. In 1996, the exhibition was closed due to the serious historical faults it contained. Since then - in addition to the death cells and the execution yard - the rooms of the memorial have displayed temporary exhibitions. Together with the Technical University of Dresden, the memorial plans to open a comprehensive permanent exhibition on the political judiciary under the National Socialist dictatorship, under Soviet occupation and in the early days of the GDR.
Image: Dresden, 2001, View of the exhibition »FREMD« (»ALIEN«), Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Dresden, 2001, View of the exhibition »FREMD« (»ALIEN«), Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden

Name
Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Address
George-Bähr-Straße 7
01069 Dresden
Phone
+49 (0)351 463 319 90
Fax
+49 (0)351 463 319 91
Web
http://www.stsg.de
E-Mail
gedenkstaette@mailbox.tu-dresden.de
Open
Monday to Friday 10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.
Possibilities
Temporary exhibitions on central themes of the historic site, smaller travelling exhibitions in the memorial's event room, guided tours, readings and discussions organised on a regular basis, educational work with school groups, archive and library

• Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Im Landgericht von Dresden wurden während der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus, des sowjetischen Besatzungsregimes und während der SED-Diktatur bis 1956 politisch Verfolgte verurteilt. Die Personen wurden vor Ort inhaftiert und bei Verhängung der Todesstrafe im Innenhof des Gebäudes hingerichtet. Die Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden erinnert mit ihrer Ausstellung an die Schicksale der Opfer.
Bild:Dresden, um 1930, Königliches Landgericht am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Dresden, um 1930, Königliches Landgericht am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden

Bild:Dresden, o.D., Ehemaliges Landgerichtsgebäude am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
Dresden, o.D., Ehemaliges Landgerichtsgebäude am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
Das seit 1907 bestehende Königlich-Sächsische Landgericht nutzten die Nationalsozialisten ab 1933 als Gerichtsgebäude, Haftanstalt und Hinrichtungsstätte. Sächsische Sondergerichte, der Volksgerichtshof und das Oberlandesgericht Posen führten einen Teil ihrer Prozesse am Münchner Platz durch. Bis etwa 1937 verurteilten die Richter vor allem Kommunisten, Sozialdemokraten und Zeugen Jehovas zu mehrjährigen Haftstrafen. Ab dieser Zeit bis zum Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges wurden immer mehr Personen verurteilt, die gegen die nationalsozialistischen Rassengesetze verstießen oder sich regimekritisch äußerten. Mit Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges erhöhte sich die Zahl der vom Landgericht Dresden verhängten Todesurteile. Bei vielen der an diesem Ort Getöteten handelte es sich um politisch Verfolgte aus dem Protektorat Böhmen und Mähren sowie aus dem Sudetenland. Nachdem sie in den Landes- und Oberlandesgerichten dieser Gebiete verurteilt worden waren, erfolgte die Vollstreckung des Urteils in der Hinrichtungsstätte am Münchner Platz. Bis zu ihrer Zerstörung durch Bombenabwürfe im Februar 1945 starben mehr als 1.300 der zum Tode verurteilten Frauen und Männer durch die Guillotine in einem Innenhof des Gebäudes.
Nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges nutzten sowjetische Sicherheitsorgane das Gerichtsgebäude und die Haftanstalt als Untersuchungs- und Durchgangsgefängnis. Sowjetische Militärtribunale verurteilten NSDAP-Mitglieder, Gegner der Stalinisierung und willkürlich Verhaftete zu langen Haftstrafen oder zum Tode. Andere wurden ohne Verurteilung in Speziallager verbracht. Parallel dazu fanden in dem historischen Gerichtsgebäude Prozesse der deutschen Justiz wegen NS-Tötungsverbrechen, später zunehmend gegen Kritiker und Gegner des SED-Regimes statt. Von 1952 bis 1956 war der Ort zentrale Hinrichtungsstätte der DDR-Justiz. Nachweislich 66 Personen wurden in dieser Zeit exekutiert.
Bild:Dresden, um 1930, Königliches Landgericht am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Dresden, um 1930, Königliches Landgericht am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden

Bild:Dresden, o.D., Ehemaliges Landgerichtsgebäude am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
Dresden, o.D., Ehemaliges Landgerichtsgebäude am Münchner Platz, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden, Udo Baldauf
Zwischen dem 30. Januar 1933 und dem 8. Februar 1945 starben im Gebäude am Münchner Platz nachweislich 1.328 Männer und Frauen durch die Guillotine. Nach der Zerstörung der Guillotine wurde bis Kriegsende eine unbekannte Zahl von Menschen im Richthof erschossen. Bei etwa zwei Dritteln der zum Tode Verurteilten handelte es sich um tschechische Frauen und Männer. Auch zum Tode verurteilte Deserteure der Deutschen Wehrmacht und Kriegsgegner wurden am Münchner Platz hingerichtet. Unter den Opfern befanden sich - bis zur vollständigen Aberkennung des Anspruchs auf ein gerichtliches Verfahren am 1. Juli 1943 - ebenfalls Menschen jüdischer Herkunft.
Bild:o.O., um 1930, Die im Februar 1945 im Innenhof des Landgerichts hingerichtete Ärztin Margarete Blank, Sächsisches Staatsarchiv Leipzig
o.O., um 1930, Die im Februar 1945 im Innenhof des Landgerichts hingerichtete Ärztin Margarete Blank, Sächsisches Staatsarchiv Leipzig

Ende der fünfziger Jahre erfolgte der Umbau des ehemaligen Landgerichts zu einem Lehrgebäude der Technischen Hochschule Dresden. In dem Teil, in dem sich die Hinrichtungsstätte befand, wurde 1959 eine »Mahn- und Gedenkstätte des antifaschistischen Widerstandskampfes« eingeweiht. Die Ausstellung bezog sich nur auf die Opfer in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus. 1992 wurde der Münchner-Platz-Komitee e.V. als Trägerverein der Gedenkstätte gegründet. Seit dieser Zeit beschäftigt sich die Forschungs- und Bildungsarbeit der Gedenkstätte auch mit den nach Kriegsende am Münchner Platz erfolgten Verurteilungen und Hinrichtungen. Seit 1994 gehört die Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden zur Stiftung Sächsische Gedenkstätten. 1996 wurde die historisch nicht mehr vertretbare Ausstellung geschlossen. Seither sind in den Räumen – neben den Todeszellen und dem Richthof - Wechselausstellungen zu sehen. In Zusammenarbeit mit der TU Dresden plant die Gedenkstätte die Eröffnung einer umfassenden Dauerausstellung zur politischen Strafjustiz während der nationalsozialistischen Diktatur, der sowjetischen Besatzungszeit und der frühen DDR.
Bild:Dresden, 2001, Blick in die Ausstellung »FREMD«, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Dresden, 2001, Blick in die Ausstellung »FREMD«, Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden

Name
Gedenkstätte Münchner Platz Dresden
Adresse
George-Bähr-Straße 7
01069 Dresden
Telefon
+49 (0)351 463 319 90
Fax
+49 (0)351 463 319 91
Web
http://www.stsg.de
E-Mail
gedenkstaette@mailbox.tu-dresden.de
Öffnungszeiten
Montags bis freitags 10.00 bis 16.00
Angebot
Wechselnde Ausstellungen zu zentralen Themen des historischen Ortes, kleinere Wanderausstellungen im Veranstaltungsraum der Gedenkstätte, Führungen, regelmäßige Lesungen und Diskussionen, pädagogische Arbeit mit Schulklassen, Archiv/Bibliothek