• Central Museum of the Great Patriotic War
The Museum of the Great Patriotic War and the monument »Peoples' Tragedy«, located in the »Park of Victory« on Moscow's »Poklonnaya Gora«, commemorate both the suffering and losses of the Soviet Union and the heroism of soldiers of the Red Army between 1941 and 1945.
Image: Stalingrad, January 1943, A Soviet flag being waved at the central square in Stalingrad, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316
Stalingrad, January 1943, A Soviet flag being waved at the central square in Stalingrad, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316

Image: Moscow, 2004, Central Museum of the Great Patriotic War, Stiftung Denkmal
Moscow, 2004, Central Museum of the Great Patriotic War, Stiftung Denkmal
On September 1, 1939, the German Wehrmacht invaded Poland; on September 17, the Red Army attacked Poland from the east. Together these armies sealed Poland's fourth partition and divided the rest of Eastern Europe among each other. This alliance of convenience, formalised in the so-called Ribbentrop-Molotov Pact on August 23, 1939, was breached when German units invaded the Soviet Union on the morning of June 22, 1941, beginning an unprecedented war of extermination. Soviet dictator and commander-in-chief Generalissimo Joseph Stalin called for defence and called this battle the »Great Patriotic War« in reference to the defensive war against Napoleon in 1812 called the »Patriotic War«. Following vast losses in the first few months of combat, the Red Army slowly regained strength. Most importantly, the Soviet Union was able to move vast capacities of war production to the country's interior. Meanwhile, the Wehrmacht's supply routes were disrupted by partisans behind the front line. The Soviet victories in Stalingrad (winter 1942/43) and Kursk (July 1943) ended the German advance and became a turning point in the war on the eastern front. The Soviet counter-offensive finally led to the unconditional surrender of the German Wehrmacht on May 8/9, 1945 in Berlin-Karlshorst, thus ending the Second World War in Europe. In the following decades, the Soviet superpower continued its occupation of large parts of Eastern Europe.
Image: Stalingrad, January 1943, A Soviet flag being waved at the central square in Stalingrad, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316
Stalingrad, January 1943, A Soviet flag being waved at the central square in Stalingrad, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316

Image: Moscow, 2004, Central Museum of the Great Patriotic War, Stiftung Denkmal
Moscow, 2004, Central Museum of the Great Patriotic War, Stiftung Denkmal
About 27 million Soviet citizens died during the Second World War, including 18 million civilians. An estimated 3 million Soviet prisoners of war died from starvation in National Socialist captivity.
Image: no place given, August 1942, Soviet prisoners of war in a camp, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-B21845, Wahner
no place given, August 1942, Soviet prisoners of war in a camp, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-B21845, Wahner

Image: Moscow, undated, Monument »Peoples' Tragedy«, Stiftung Denkmal
Moscow, undated, Monument »Peoples' Tragedy«, Stiftung Denkmal
A competition for the design of a »memorial complex in honour of our victory« was announced already in 1942. In 1961, the »Park of Victory« (Park Pobedy) was laid out on the »Poklonnaya Gora« (literally »bow-down hill«). The park was originally dedicated to the 1812 victory over Napoleon, but an additional dedication was instated in March 1986, when the Soviet Ministry of Culture decided on the establishment of the Central Museum of the Great Patriotic War. Despite the downfall of communism and the dissolution of the Soviet Union, this large-scale project was finalised and opened on May 9, 1995, on the 50th anniversary of the end of the war (referred to as Victory in Russian). 55 heads of state from all over the world came to the opening including US president Bill Clinton.
The Museum of the Great Patriotic War is part of a memorial complex in the 9 hectare large »Park of Victory«. The museum contains a »Hall of Names« with memorial books listing the names of over 26 million dead from the Soviet Union, a memorial hall for deserved soldiers and the 12 »Hero Cities« of the Soviet Union. In front of the museum stands the »Peoples' Tragedy« monument, dedicated to the civilian victims. A bronze sculpture depicting a mound of victims' clothes is also on display. This sculpture, originally designed by the president of the Russian Academy of Arts, Zurab Tsereteli, for Israel, was set up in front of the museum entrance in 1995. However, its pessimistic message was heavily criticised, and soon the sculpture was moved to a less prominent spot behind the museum. The over 140 metre-high obelisk, a symbol of the victory, situated in front of the main museum building was also designed by Tsereteli. Three houses of prayer in the complex also serve as monuments: there is a Russian Orthodox church, a mosque and a synagogue.
Image: Moscow, 2004, Detailed view of the museum building, Stiftung Denkmal
Moscow, 2004, Detailed view of the museum building, Stiftung Denkmal

Image: Moscow, 2007, Synagogue in the »Park of Victory«, eugeny1988
Moscow, 2007, Synagogue in the »Park of Victory«, eugeny1988
Name
Zentralnyj musej Welikoj Otetschestwennoj wojny
Address
Poklonnaya Gora
121293 Moskwa
Phone
+7 (0)499 142 49 11
Web
http://www.poklonnayagora.ru/
Open
Tuesday to Sunday 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Possibilities
Commemorative ceremonies are held annually on May 9, »Victory Day in the Great Patriotic War«, guided tours, permanent exhibition, special exhibitions

• Zentrales Museum des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges
Im »Park des Sieges« auf dem Moskauer »Verbeugungsberg« erinnern unter anderem das Museum des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges und das Denkmal »Tragödie der Völker« an das Leid und die Verluste der Sowjetunion, vor allem aber an den Heldenmut der Soldaten der Roten Armee zwischen 1941 und 1945.
Bild:Stalingrad, Januar 1943, Über dem zentralen Platz in Stalingrad weht die sowjetische Fahne, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316
Stalingrad, Januar 1943, Über dem zentralen Platz in Stalingrad weht die sowjetische Fahne, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316

Bild:Moskau, 2004, Zentrales Museum des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges, Stiftung Denkmal
Moskau, 2004, Zentrales Museum des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges, Stiftung Denkmal
Am 1. September 1939 überschritt die deutsche Wehrmacht die Grenze zum Nachbarland Polen, ab dem 17. September marschierte die Rote Armee von Osten ein. Gemeinsam besiegelten das Deutsche und die Sowjetunion die vierte polnische Teilung und teilten weitere Gebiete Osteuropas unter sich auf. Dieses Zweckbündnis, geschlossen im sogenannten Hitler-Stalin-Pakt am 23. August 1939, zerbrach, als deutsche Einheiten in den frühen Morgenstunden des 22. Juni 1941 die Sowjetunion angriffen und einen Vernichtungskrieg ohne Beispiel begannen. Moskaus Diktator und oberster Heerführer, Generalissimus Josef Stalin, rief zur Abwehr auf und nannte diesen Kampf in Anlehnung an den siegreichen russischen Verteidigungskrieg gegen Napoleon 1812, der »Vaterländischer Krieg« genannt wird, »Großen Vaterländischen Krieg«. Nach riesigen Verlusten in den ersten Kriegsmonaten erholte sich die Rote Armee allmählich, vor allem gelang es der Sowjetunion, große Teile der Kriegsproduktion ins Hinterland zu verlagern. Hinter der Front störten Partisanen die Nachschublinien der Wehrmacht. Die sowjetischen Siege in Stalingrad (Winter 1942/43) und Kursk (Juli 1943) beendeten schließlich den deutschen Vormarsch und leiteten die Wende des Krieges im Osten ein. Sowjetische Gegenoffensiven führten letztendlich zur bedingungslosen Kapitulation der Wehrmacht am 8./9. Mai 1945 in Berlin-Karlshorst und zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges in Europa. Die folgenden Jahrzehnte hielt die Supermacht Sowjetunion große Teile Osteuropas besetzt.
Bild:Stalingrad, Januar 1943, Über dem zentralen Platz in Stalingrad weht die sowjetische Fahne, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316
Stalingrad, Januar 1943, Über dem zentralen Platz in Stalingrad weht die sowjetische Fahne, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-W0506-316

Bild:Moskau, 2004, Zentrales Museum des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges, Stiftung Denkmal
Moskau, 2004, Zentrales Museum des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges, Stiftung Denkmal
Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges fanden etwa 27 Millionen sowjetische Bürger den Tod, darunter 18 Millionen Zivilisten. Schätzungsweise 3 Millionen sowjetische Kriegsgefangene gab die nationalsozialistische Führung dem Hungertod preis.
Bild:o.O., August 1942, Sowjetische Kriegsgefangene im Lager, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-B21845, Wahner
o.O., August 1942, Sowjetische Kriegsgefangene im Lager, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-B21845, Wahner

Bild:Moskau, o.D., Denkmal »Tragödie der Völker«, Stiftung Denkmal
Moskau, o.D., Denkmal »Tragödie der Völker«, Stiftung Denkmal
Bereits 1942 war ein Wettbewerb für einen »Erinnerungskomplex zu Ehren unseres Sieges« in Moskau ausgerufen worden. 1961 wurde dann der »Park des Sieges« (Park Pobjedy) auf dem Moskauer »Verbeugungsberg« (Poklonnaja gora) angelegt. Zunächst war der Park dem Sieg über Napoleon 1812 gewidmet, doch mit dem Erlass des sowjetischen Kulturministeriums über die Errichtung eines Zentralen Museums des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges vom März 1986 erhielt er eine zweite Bestimmung. Dieses Großprojekt wurde dann – trotz des Zusammenbruchs des Kommunismus und der Auflösung der Sowjetunion in der Zwischenzeit – am 9. Mai 1995, dem 50. Jahrestag des Kriegsendes (im russischen Sprachgebrauch: des Sieges), in Anwesenheit von 55 Staatschefs aus aller Welt, unter anderen US-Präsident Bill Clinton, feierlich eröffnet.
Das Museum des Großen Vaterländischen Krieges ist Teil eines Erinnerungsembles im 9 Hektar großen »Park des Sieges«. Im Museum gibt es eine »Halle der Namen«, die Erinnerungsbücher mit den Namen von über 26 Millionen Toten aus der Sowjetunion enthält, und einen Gedenkraum für verdiente Soldaten und die zwölf »Heldenstädte« der Sowjetunion. Direkt am Museum steht das Denkmal »Tragödie der Völker« für die zivilen Opfer. Unter anderem wird ein aus Bronze nachgebildeter Berg von Kleidungsstücken Ermordeter gezeigt. Diese Skulptur, ursprünglich vom Präsidenten der Russischen Akademie der Künste, Surab Zereteli, für Israel entworfen, wurde 1995 zunächst vor dem Eingang aufgestellt, aber nach heftiger Kritik an der als zu pessimistisch empfundenen Aussage hinter das Museum umgesetzt. Ebenfalls von Zereteli stammt ein über 140 Meter hoher Obelisk, der vor dem Hauptgebäude als Symbol des Sieges steht. In der Anlage befinden sich zudem drei als Mahnmale gedachte Gotteshäuser: eine russisch-orthodoxe Kirche, eine Moschee und eine Synagoge.
Bild:Moskau, 2004, Detailansicht des Museumsgebäudes, Stiftung Denkmal
Moskau, 2004, Detailansicht des Museumsgebäudes, Stiftung Denkmal

Bild:Moskau, 2007, Synagoge im »Park des Sieges«, eugeny1988
Moskau, 2007, Synagoge im »Park des Sieges«, eugeny1988
Name
Zentralnyj musej Welikoj Otetschestwennoj wojny
Adresse
Poklonnaja Gora
121293 Moskwa
Telefon
+7 (0)499 142 49 11
Web
http://www.poklonnayagora.ru/
Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10.00 bis 19.00
Angebot
Jährliche Gedenkfeiern am 9. Mai, dem »Tag des Sieges im Großen Vaterländischen Krieg«, Führungen, Dauerausstellung, Wechselausstellungen